Crewel by Gennifer Albin

4 out of 5

I was actually surprised by this book. At the beginning it seemed to start out like every other dystopia YA lately, examples… segregation and absolute control of citizens, also the distribution of everything down to how much food for each household. Crewel at the beginning reminded me of three different series… Matched, Delirium and Divergent. But while all of these are rise up against the government sort of books,Crewel was more down the sci-fi lane. Even though it did have a touch of anti-government and I think that there will be more in the next book.

Adelice is a Spinster and her parents have drilled it in her head that she needs to hide this ability. If she is discovered to be a Spinster while testing she will be taken away. Spinsters are housed separately from the general public, living the lavish lifestyle of the privileged but with no marriage, children or the ability to leave. Of course while testing for placement (career placement) Adelice slips up and is discovered. Her parents try to help her escape but she doesn’t get very far. She is soon caught up in the Spinster world and knows that something is wrong.

I am always excited to read dystopian novels just because there are so many different ways to go, the world is your literary canvas to ruin in anyway you please. At first I was worried for Crewel, it seemed to be taking the same path as other series but the middle of this book is what set it apart from the others. Granted there was one thing to make it the same as the others, which is the ever present in every YA novel love triangle but even that had a wicked twist at the end. The love triangle is where I deducted a star because I hate them. It’s all the same… the MC falls for two boys/men, then seems to pick one before changing her mind a million and one times.

One thing that I just couldn’t seem to wrap my head around was what the Spinsters did. I was confused for the longest time (I feel stupid) but I did get it eventually. The Spinsters weave time on a loom. They control where to weave rain, or crops or even people. Basically Arras (the location where this takes place) in my mind was a big ass blanket that the Spinsters took sections of to work on. It was a really cool concept and original, which I liked.

I loved the ending of Crewel, it opened up so many possibilities for book two which could go in any direction at this point. I can’t wait for book two!

This ARC was provided by Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group via NetGalley. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

