Portlandtown by Rob DeBorde

3 out of 5

Disappointed is thy name.

I read the blurb and was all kinds of excited to get approved for this book and read it. I mean honestly what could go wrong… magic, zombies, gunslingers… basically a suped up old western. Besides, the cover is pretty badass as well.

The day I got approved I was literally jumping up and down but I knew I couldn’t start reading it yet. I knew once I started I wouldn’t be able to put it down and would have raved about it all over Goodreads like a lunatic. But sadly, there was no raving. What really happened is that I had no problem taking almost three weeks to read because Portlandtown held me just enough but not enough to have me breeze through it. It held my interest enough for me to want to know what happened next in hopes that I would be dazzled beyond a shadow of a doubt.

I was not dazzled in the least.

I was bored.

There was so much potential for Portlandtown and it was obvious in my opinion that there was going to be a sequel. Almost everything that happened, happened in the last 10% of the book. I spent the first third of the book alternating between whiplash and running around like a chicken with my head cut off. There were multiple… and I mean multiple point of views and most of the time I didn’t know who was narrating I couldn’t differentiate the voices (although it did get easier as the book progressed).

For me this was a so-so book. I didn’t love it and I didn’t hate it. If I didn’t spend most of my time confused then I would probably be looking forward to the next one.

SPOILERS AHEAD, PROCEED WITH CAUTION…..

The things that confused me most were….

The origins of Kate’s magic and Joesph’s. Also how Joesph got out from under The Hanged Mans control. I understood Andre’s role but was left wondering why his part was so small when it should have been bigger. The connection between Kick and Maddie was confusing as well and at this point I may have zoned out but how on earth was the connection broken. I would have loved to learn more about the book and how it had a hold on Henry and why his life was connected to The Hanged Man, also why he felt compelled to help The Hanged Man when clearly he should have Usain Bolt(ed) his ass out of there. And who’s voice was telling him to do things… the book or The Hanged Man?

I was left with a lot of questions that I’m positive will be answered in the sequel but at this point I really don’t feel compelled to continue.

This ARC was provided by St. Martin’s Press via Netgalley. Thanks a million!

Leave a Reply

