Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

3 out of 5

This book seems to be one of two things to most people. Either you love it or you hate it, and I totally get why. For me it was in the middle because if I shut my brain off and quit analyzing everything then it was an easy read. But if I flipped that switch I can see where people think it’s horrendous. Luckily for me I didn’t expect much, and my brain decided to let me be in peace and read whatever.

Abby Abernathy is pretty straight laced or so she seems when she meets Travis Maddox. They have a volatile relationship, and Travis is straight up crazy jealous even without Abby giving him a reason to be. There was definitely a lot of love/hate going on.

Abby just… UGH, I don’t understand her. She started college far from home to give herself a fresh start. She tried to act all demure and prim during the first part of the book. Turns out that was all an act **SPOILER** **SPOILER** (she’s actually the daughter of a pro poker player with ties to the mob…who knew) **END SPOILER** but as soon as she meets Travis all that hard work goes right out the window. Abby starts in on her old ways by drinking everybody under the table, going out all night, gambling and going out with Travis of all people. Overall she was weak and whiny, and a bit irritating.

The jealousy bit got irritating after a while. Travis went from one extreme to another… Like constant PMS that no amount of Midol could fix. Travis was part of the “Circle” which is basically Fight Club for college kids. He was a ball of drunken violence, completely unhinged. Although he never laid a hand on Abby, it seemed like I was always waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Reasons why Travis Maddox is NOT a good boyfriend

(no they do not go in order)

#1 – He calls you Pigeon the first time he meets you and continues to do so throughout the relationship.

– Pigeon is not a term of endearment and after learning someones name especially if you are romantically involved… USE IT!

#2 – People warn you of his temper and warn you that you need to be patient with him.

– If your temper is so bad that I need to watch what I say or do then we will have problems. If you don’t have a filter on your temper, then I don’t have one on my mouth.

#3 – After having sex for the first time don’t leave or he might trash the apartment and call you every five minutes.

– If this isn’t a red flag by now then I just don’t know what to say. You have obviously lost ALL YOUR FREAKING MARBLES!!!!!

#4 – To make you jealous he has a threesome on the couch while you try to sleep in his bed.

– WTF???? REALLY????

I could keep going, but honestly there isn’t a point.

I gave this 3 out of 5 because I liked the concept, and I apparently like to read all about love/hate relationships. I think I would have liked it more if it were less bordering on domestic violence and more just plain butting heads. Because in my opinion Travis and Abby were about to be the poster children of domestic violence.

This ARC was provided by Simon & Schuster, Inc. via Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

