Faelorehn by Jenna Johnson

2 out of 5

If this isn’t one sided instalove then I just don’t know what is!

I’m a sucker for books involving the fae, even those awful trashy romance ones and yes, I’ve read a lot of those. Anytime I see one I buy it or in this case request it. Boy oh boy was this a crappy disappointment.

Let me start out by saying that I knew the fae were involved by reading the title and by reading the blurb. With that being said, why did it take until 25% of the book to get a glimpse of what was going on and 50% to finally find out what was happening. That is ridiculous! I found out more reading the blurb than I did reading half the book!

But whatever.

So we have Meghan Elam who is our ugly duckling main character. She is highly unpopular, has weird visions and pretty much creeps everyone out. She knows there’s something different about herself but she had yet to figure it out. Her adoptive parents have had her on medication but it never stopped the visions so she stopped telling everyone about them.

Then she meets Cade MacRoich who saves her life after being attacked by “otherworld” creatures. I won’t go into anymore detail about him because he does play an important role in Meghan finding herself and her true identity. And I was surprised to learn who Cade actually was.

What I didn’t like was the one sided instalove that bloomed out of Meghan after spending a few short hours with Cade. I understand that Cade treated her like a normal girl unlike her classmates but give me a break! She was basically fawning all over him instantly and it was so unrealistic.

Like I said before I’m a sucker for fae books, so there’s a chance I’ll read number 2 but not without careful consideration. I don’t want to be sucked into more instalove.

This ARC was provided by Indie Inked via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

