INTO THE DEEP BY: SAMANTHA YOUNG

into the deep by samantha young

5 out of 5 glowing stars!

brain=off

Samantha Young what have you done to me?! I was an absolute mess of a human being this morning after being up until 2:30am finishing this book, I couldn’t put it down. It started with me telling myself at around 11pm that I’ll just finish a chapter or two….by midnight I was ready to admit to myself that there was no possible way I could get any sleep until I reached the end of this book. It demanded my attention, there was no denying it. So here I sit, satisfied but wanting more, happy but oh so very tired, and I wouldn’t change any of it. That’s my favorite thing about a really good book, you can’t get away from it.

Now let me gush about my absolute favorite thing about Into the Deep, Charley of course!!! As much of a heartthrob that Jake Caplin was, Charley Redford was the star of this show. I don’t think you could read this book and not fall in love with Charley. I love that she’s not your typical New Adult heroine. She’s smart, beautiful, funny, brave, kind, and maybe best of all has so much respect for herself and other people. I knew I was going to like her, and this book in when I was about 9% in at a glimpse from the past when Charley and Jake first meet….
“Are you going to make me work for it?”

“If I don’t believe I’m worth the effort, why the hell would you”

I love that she wasn’t just playing games with Jake, she just had a sense of self worth. I wish this strong female character was present in more of the NA books I read.

This is my second Samantha Young novel, the first was On Dublin Street (another 5 star book) and I can see a common theme here. Man can she write some amazing characters. They are so full of depth and complexity. It’s like looking at a beautiful picture of the stars, you think, “Wow this stars are great, so pretty”, and then one night the sky is clear and dark and the stars are shining so incredibly bright, you look up and it takes your breath away. And you don’t know how you could have fooled yourself into thinking that beautiful picture was even in the same ballpark as the overwhelmingly vast and glorious true night sky. My friends, Samantha Young’s characters are my true night sky. Even the ones that aren’t at the center of the story shine bright, you can’t help but want to know more about all of them.

It also has to be said what a wonderful story was told here as well! I love a good second chance romance. I mean I kind of live in one myself! My guy and I have been together 7 years now, but this is the second time around, the first time was when were teenagers. So you see I can relate to that pull Charley and Jake feel throughout the book. I will admit though that there were times when I wondered if maybe Charley should just start fresh and move on, I lost my trust in Jake right along with her. I really enjoyed the journey between the past and the present as well. With each new piece of the past revealed we got a better understanding of what was going on in the present and why Charley felt the way she did.

I really look forward to seeing what the future holds for the amazing characters in this book. I think it will be quite a journey. Now I must go hunt for more stories from this author, because I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

