BEST KIND OF BROKEN BY: CHELSEA FINE

Best kind of Broken by Chealsea Fine4.5 out of 5 stars

 
Where did this book come from?! I am an avid reader, and as such, I vigorously research a book before I read it.  I did not do that for this book, which is so very rare for me.  I was simply browsing NetGalley and happened upon Best Kind of Broken. I thought it had a pretty cover, and I loved the title. So I figured, why not give it a try.  I’m so glad I did.  This book knocked my socks off, this was NA at it’s best!

I loved that this book started out immediately right in the middle of Trixie and Levi’s very complicated relationship.  You were completely in the dark as to why things between them were so strained. As their story progressed we got glimpses into the past. It was a puzzle that was slowly coming together, page by page. I really enjoyed those flashes of the past, most of them were heartwarming, and only made me fall more in love with these amazing characters. The rotating chapters and perspectives between the two was also well done and I really liked getting a sense of what they were both feeling at the same time.

Trixie was a brooding artist, burying the ghosts of her past and keeping people at arms length just trying to drudge through day by day.  Levi was a wounded and haunted man, hiding from his life by staying busy with mundane tasks.  It was not lost on me that he was spending his time fixing things, while he ignored fixing himself and the life that was fractured around him.  When fate, or Ellen 😉 happened to, unknowingly to them, get them together for a whole summer, their wounds were slowly exposed. It was also about more than just repairing their relationship, but more about healing themselves, and moving forward.

broken heart

So many of the characters in this story were so well developed and real. I couldn’t get enough. I would love to see more from Jenna, Jack, Zack, Daren, and really anyone at the Inn. That place and all of its inhabitants and staff were absolutely charming.

lavender inn

I thought this was a beautiful story about love, loss, and pain. One tragedy changed so many lives and moving to see their journey.

  “They’re stronger, you know.” Paul looks up at me.

  I shield my eyes from the morning sun. “What’s stronger?”

  “The plants that you revive, ” he says. “When you bring something back from the brink of death, it fights harder to thrive.” Paul leans against his cane again and smiles. “So is the story of life, I guess.”

blooming flower

Amongst the gloom in this story there was beauty, hope and even humor.  While not dealing with their real feelings, Trixie and Levi resort to some pretty comical immature lengths to annoy each other. And I enjoyed every second of it!

immature

This was my first Chelsea Fine novel, but it will not be my last. I was so pleasantly surprised with Best Kind of Broken, and I will be painstakingly waiting for the next book in the Finding Fate series! I can’t wait to read more from this author!

  This ARC was provided by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

Leave a Reply

