The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

You have been forewarned, this is not a book review.

Let me start by saying, I absolutely love this series and this rant has nothing to do with the book. House of Hades is a 5 out of 5 for me.

Before I read this book, I came across the reviews for it on Amazon. I was baffled as to why there were so many negative reviews, until I started reading them. Then, I was appalled and quite frankly ashamed for the human race.

I’m about to give away a pretty big spoiler, if you don’t want to know don’t read the rest of this post. Or you could just look on Amazon on any negative review and get an idea of what I’m about to say.

So here goes nothing…
SPOILER ALERT

It is revealed about half way through the book that Nico is gay.

I realize that the topic of homosexuality is a touchy one for a lot of people, for me and my family it’s not. Maybe it has to do with the fact that my uncle was gay. Or maybe it was because my parents never hid it from me because there’s nothing wrong with it. Or it might even have to do with the fact that my parents stressed to me that I could love whom ever I wanted to.

Some reviews were from parents saying how could he do that to my young and impressionable children, this book is not age appropriate, it made for awkward conversations that I wasn’t ready to have, there was nothing leading up to the big reveal, blah, blah, blah. Maybe if you didn’t hide everything from your children, or maybe you are the one who can’t deal with it. What twelve year old doesn’t know what gay is? Seriously, is your child living in an unknown world without social media? Hell, even Disney featured a lesbian couple on one of their shows.

With regards to there being no fore warning… Have you ever met an in the closet gay man or lesbian? Do you possibly know what they go through to keep it hidden from others because of the way society use to treat them and how a lot of people still treat them? How religion treats them, like they’re second class citizens unworthy of basic human rights. Besides, in the book, Nico didn’t want to reveal his secret, he was forced by Cupid in order to obtain something they needed.

My godfather, the man who was a second father to me was gay. I never knew him not to be. He was in a committed relationship with his partner for almost 25 years. He passed away from cancer on their 25 anniversary. He was an incredible person who donated his time and money to charity, he was kind to everyone he met. Because of him, my daughter will never not be accepted by me or my family. Because of him, I know what love looks like even if it’s between two men or two women. I miss him all the time, and anytime something like this happens in the media (which is every single day it seems) I get passionate about the subject. Maybe, just maybe if you got to know someone based on their personality and not their sexual orientation then you would be able to accept them for who they are and not who they love. In the end though, it shouldn’t matter who you love.

The world saddens me, and parents who are uncomfortable with talking to their children about homosexuality need to grow up and teach their children to be accepting of all humans not just the straight ones.

That is all.

I just wanted to point out that I made it through this entire thing without cussing… that is not like me at all.

Thank you Rick Riordan for forcing this conversation in millions of homes. At least now they’ll have to talk about it.

image

One thought on “The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

  1. Love this, Jen!! Having real conversations with your children should be encouraged! They pick up on things at all ages, things you wouldn’t believe. My daughter, Katlyn, is 11 years old and we’ve had many conversations about issues ranging from racism, religion, politics and bigotry. She lives in the real world, and unfortunately sometimes that means being subjected to things that I wish I could shield her from, but that’s just not possible. So the next best thing is to TALK with her about it, see what she already knows, or thinks that she does about the subject, her feelings on it, and then share mine with her. Ignorance is one of the most dangerous and damaging things out there, any parent perpetuating this is doing their child and the people they inevitably encounter in life a disservice. Don’t insult your child’s intelligence, they are sponges, they absorb and notice so much that they encounter in their younger years, you need to have open conversations with them. Thank goodness there are still people like, Rick Riordan out there who write such amazing, engaging stories, and can bring real life, important things to the fore front of our child’s minds. I thought that was what good novels were meant to do, make you think and spark conversations about how it can relate to you and real life. Maybe if more people had a conversation or two about things instead of jumping right to judgments, their would be some more open-minded compassionate people out there. I’ll leave this with a couple of my favorite quotes that I feel relate to this. Hopefully they, along with this great post my fellow blogger wrote, can spark an interesting conversation or two with any readers out there.

    “I decided it is better to scream. Silence is the real crime against humanity.” – Nadezhda Mandelstam

    “Question everything. Your love, your religion, your passion. If you don’t have questions, you’ll never have answers.” – Colleen Hoover

    “Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

    “Where ignorance is our master, there is no possibility of real peace.” – Dalai Lama

    Like

Leave a Reply

