Very Wicked Things by Ilsa Madden-Mills

image

4 out of 5

Born on the poor side of town…

Ballerina Dovey Beckham is a scholarship student at Briarcrest Academy, determined to prove she’s more than just a girl with the wrong pedigree. She does whatever it takes to succeed in her endgame, even if it means surrendering her body…but never her heart.

Until the day she meets him, and he rips apart all her well-laid plans. Suddenly, the girl everyone thought unbreakable might just shatter.

Born into wealth and privilege…

Cuba “Hollywood” Hudson is rich, spoiled, and a star football player. With his fast cars and superficial girlfriends, he lives the high-life, hiding his secrets from the world.

Until the day he meets her, and she offers him something he’s never tasted… love.

But once in a lifetime kind of love doesn’t come easy. When trust crumbles and doubts creep in, both will have to decide to either love or let go… forever.

Welcome to Briarcrest Academy, where sometimes, only the wicked survive.

 

Very Wicked Things is the second book in this series, and like the other, I enjoyed it just as much. Love is not a fairy tale, it doesn’t happen. There are ups and downs, wrongs and rights and just about everything else under the sun. Nothing is perfect, and love can go down hill faster than you can possibly think. It’s the main reason that I enjoy these books, the characters have so much to overcome, by the end you’re waiting, holding your breath to see it everything will turn out as it should or if more obsticles will present themselves.

You don’t have to read Very Wicked Beginnings but I do suggest it, because when you go into Very Wicked Things you’ll know where Dovey and Cuba started. Very Wicked Things takes place a year after Very Wicked Beginnings.

 

Dovey is such a likable character, she has had to overcome so much in such a short time. All Dovey has ever wanted to do was be a ballet dancer, from the moment she heard the music coming up from the floor below her apartment that she shared with her mom. Her mother ends up dying of a drug overdose when Dovey was 10. Nothing about her life up to this point is anything happy.

“Tugging my old quilt around me, I rubbed my socked feet together, wishing we had heat. Mama had forgetten to pay the bills. Again.”

“I will die here” Truth. “I want out. I want something better than what I have.” She gazed at me with a pain expression, knowing my circumstances. “I don’t want your pity,” I said, thrusting out my chest. Pity is for losers and weaklings. “I want someone to believe in me.”

After that moment, Sarah excepted Dovey into her ballet studio and into her life by becoming her guardian after her mother died.

Cuba, for a rich kid, he’s had a pretty fucked up go at life. I’m not going to go into too many details, but we leave him in Very Wicked Beginnings blowing off his mother to be with Dovey. I actually kind of feel bad for him. Cuba thinks he deserves nothing good. He blames himself for something that couldn’t of been his fault. The guilt that he carries rides him hard.

But Dovey and Cuba are perfect for each other. Like I said above, love is not a fairy tale, you grow apart and have to learn how to reconnect, and that is exactly what is standing in the way of these two.

I enjoyed it more than I thought, but to be quite honest, I’m really looking forward to Sebastians book. No offense Dovey and Cuba but you guys have nothing on Sebastian!

 

This ARC was provided by Bolero Books LLC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

 

Leave a Reply

