Very Wicked Beginnings by Ilsa Madden-Mills

image

4 out of 5

Girls say I’m a walking, talking sex god. Guys call me Hollywood because my life is golden.

It’s not.

But, ESPN did rank me as a four-star recruit, calling me one of the best defensive players since Briarcrest Academy opened its esteemed doors. So yeah, with football and a stellar GPA, my future seemed good.

Then Dovey Beckham shows up in her short skirts and ballet shoes. Driving me insane. Making me want to beg for her attention.

But that wouldn’t happen, because Cuba Hudson didn’t beg for
anything.

She walked around BA like she owned the place, and most days she looked right through me…the one girl I couldn’t have.
So, of course, I made it my mission to claim her, to put her notch on my bedpost.

Because no girl can resist the Heartbreaker of BA.

Welcome to Briarcrest Academy, where wicked love begins…and ends.

image

Very Wicked Beginnings is a novella set between books 1 and 2, and is pretty much an introduction to Dovey. Cuba had a small role in the first book where we learned that he’s basically a man whore, someone who likes to hit it and quit it!

Dovey is not rich, she grew up on the wrong side of town. Her mother was a hooker, she watched her dad beat her mother, she watched her mother get strung out and she waited days at a time for her to come home again. Dovey and her mother lived above a ballet studio and this is where she fell in love with it. She worked her ass of to get a scholarship to BA and she isn’t about to let some asshat get in her way.

Cuba, oh Cuba. Just when you think that you know the way someone is going to act, they surprise the hell out off you. Cuba likes to act a certain way, like nothing could possibly be going wrong in his life. His mother is clinically depressed and suicidal (Cuba blames himself, it isn’t revealed in here why), his father jets of to business meetings whenever possible. But, he’s also a dick.

…no matter who people think you are, no one really knows what’s underneath. The real truth is I’m an irresponsible, self-centered fuck who put his own needs before others.

But don’t worry, Dovey knows how to handle herself.

“Get to know me, Dovey. Let’s hang out. I promise I won’t bit unless you want me to.”

She let out a long sigh, like she was getting ready for a sermon. She said, “I appreciate your balls in coming up to me. I even applaud your whole ‘I dreamed about you’ line, because it was smooth. Just the right amount of humor with a touch of sexy. It’s obvious you’re a master at picking up girls. And the kissing part? That was excellent. Very subtle, and just enough to get my mind thinking about us… you know…. kissing.” Her words faltered. “But at the end of the day, it won’t work. We aren’t compatible. We come from two different places. You’re rich; I’m not. You like to party; I don’t. You like high heels; I don’t wear them. Good grief, your friends call you Hollywood. Then there’s me. I work my ass off to get everything I have. So yeah, not feasible.”

I will be reading and reviewing Very Wicked Things, the second book all about Dovey and Cuba as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

