This Is Falling by Ginger Scott

4 out of 5

 

First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it.

When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how.

And then I met Nate Preeter.

An All-American baseball player, Nate wasn’t supposed to notice a ghost-of-a-girl like me. But he did. He shouldn’t want to know my name. But he did. And when he learned my secret and saw the scars it left behind, he was supposed to run. But he didn’t.

My heart was dead, and I was never supposed to belong to anyone. But Nate Preeter had me feeling, and he made me want to be his. He showed me everything I was missing.

And then he showed me how to fall.

*This is a standalone in a three-part series that will focus on different characters. Each book can be read on its own.

 

This Is Falling was so cute. There are only 2 reasons why I liked it so much.

#1 Nate is not a dick.

#2 Practical jokes, and challenges accepted.

 

You heard right, NATE IS NOT A DICK, and he only had one jealousy outburst. That my book loving friends is a record in any new adult book ever!

He was sweet, he took everything slow. When Rowe needed space, Nate gave it to her. When she needed a laugh, he was there. I really don’t feel like I have to expand.

 

And the practical jokes, snarky banter, and challenges accepted made everything so much better.

“He farted”… “Oooooh, yeah. Sorry ladies. I think I may have sharted.”

“Hey, guys. Sorry we’re late. Rowe got a phone call that her ointment was ready. We had to pick it up. That’s the one that helps with the…burning…right?” Nate fake-whispers…. “Yeah, it’s way better now. That stuff works really fast.”…”Too bad about your pants, though.”

“What happened to your pants?” Paige asks. “Oh, I thought everyone knew. Nate’s incontinent. He pissed himself on the way over here.”

There is sooo much more banter, but I can’t give all of them away. There may or may not be a barbie pillow and a pink dorm room… just saying!

 

Rowe definitely has some issues, not necessarily trust issues more like a huge traumatizing event that happened to her, that left her with physical and emotional scars. The way that Nate helps her overcome them will have your heart melting, and wishing for someone just like him!

 

Read this book, I for sure will be picking up the others that go along with This Is Falling!

 

This Arc was provided by Ginger Scott via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

