UGLY LOVE BY: COLLEEN HOOVER

ugly love 2.75 out of 5 stars

 

 

I really wanted to love this book. I mean I love Colleen Hoover, and she’s wrote some books that were easily 5 star reads, in my opinion. I was so excited to dive into this one. I hate to say that I was disappointed….but unfortunately that’s ultimately how I felt. There were some things that I did enjoy, don’t get me wrong, but I had high expectations and this just wasn’t all I thought it would be.

 

Honestly I think most of my problems with this book can be summed up with one word….Tate. I hated that she put herself in situations with Miles that she wasn’t comfortable in, and then just lied about it to him. The only credit I can give her is that she was mostly honest with herself about her wants, needs, and feelings, but it pissed me off that she wasn’t honest with Miles about them…..until the bitter end. She excused not doing so with two of the saddest, most typical girl responses “He was so hot” and “I’ll change him”. I wasn’t even mad at Miles, he was pretty honest from the get go, even if he was fooling himself, if Tate wasn’t on board with no strings attached sex, than DON’T DO IT!

 

 

Miles was alright. I liked his story. He had a tragic past, and I enjoyed seeing him overcome that. I did find it a little weird that this book, when told from his perspective, read like a love letter to another girl. I found it odd to see Tate’s feelings for Miles look kind of similar to Mile’s feelings about his first love. I get why it was done this way, but it was still a little puzzling to see going on through damn near the whole book though. He was also a little obsessive and kind of weirdly poetic sometimes, which felt like a bad version of Slammed. Not my favorite CoHo book. I still think she is awsomesauce, but this was not the book for me.

Leave a Reply

