LOST LAKE BY: SARAH ADDISON ALLEN

image 4 out of 5 stars

This was my first SAA book, but it definitely won’t be my last! Lost Lake is a hard book to categorize, it’s like realistic fiction with a dash of whimsy and magic. That in itself sold me on it. I loved the feel that this book had, like maybe anything was possible. The setting had this same feel, it was enchanting, this hideaway resort for misfits. I only wish there was a real Lost lake, I’d make a reservation in a heartbeat!!

image

There was quite a ragtag group of individuals in this story.

image

3 generations of people just trying to figure things out and be happy. I loved this! I liked being able to see the different ways, from young to old, and in between, that people looked at life, love and happiness. It was also nice to see the grownups remember how magical the world was through a child’s eyes, and recapture a glimmer of that for themselves.

image

My only real complaint was that I wish the ending would have been a little more filled out. It was kind of ambiguous. It did make sense with the story that the author gave you enough to feel hopeful, but you needed to imagine for yourself what would come of all these loveable characters. I guess I just enjoyed them all so much, and enjoyed their journey, I would have really liked seeing them get the things they wanted in the end. I wanted to see them in their happily ever afters. All in all though, this was a delightful book and I really look forward to reading more by this author soon!

3 thoughts on “LOST LAKE BY: SARAH ADDISON ALLEN

Leave a Reply

