The D.U.F.F. by Kody Keplinger

4 out of 5

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff–the designated ugly fat friend–of her crew.

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Okay, seriously I wasn’t really expecting much going into this book. I assumed that it was going to be some teeny bopper pushover novel with just enough to keep me engaged. Whelp, I was wrong…. (my track record has not been good lately) I loved The D.U.F.F.

Think back to when you were in school, or if you’re still in school (btw, you make me feel old if you’re still in school) everyone at some point has been the designated ugly fat friend.

Yeah, you are…

What made The DUFF so entertaining is that it dealt with real issues and not make believe teen angst with a sprinkle of overkill. We All Had/Have Those Friends…

The friend who isn’t rich from a broken family.

The friend who comes from a loving home but has no backbone.

The friend who has abandonment issues and never gets attached.

The friend whos parents are going through a divorce.

The friend who has a recovering alcoholic father that just relapsed.

The friend who is so nerdy it’s cute.

I can guarantee that either you are one of those friends or you represent most of those friends. I can say for certainty that I represent most of those friends. My parents got divorced while I was in high school, I never in my life came from money, I had an alcoholic parent, and I’m pretty freaking nerdy. My point is, that this book dealt with real situations that happen in every neighborhood, in every high school whether you see it or not.

I really did love this book, and now I can’t wait to see the movie. Although I may have to wait til it comes out of theaters, I may be a little late on the bandwagon!!

 

This book was provided by Hachette Children’s Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so so much!!!

2 thoughts on “The D.U.F.F. by Kody Keplinger

    1. I definitely plan on it, more than likely when it comes out. I have a love/hate relationship with books turned into movies so I try to wait until they’re out of theaters

      Like

Leave a Reply

