LEARNING TO LIVE BY: KIRA ADAMS

Review:

Learning to Live - Kira Adams

 

 

    “I love how romance authors can make you feel every emotion in their books, that you feel invested in the characters. By the end of the story, you feel as if you know them on some kind of level, and you mourn the loss of them when it’s over.”

 

        Yep. That quote about sums up my feelings on this book. You’re a clever one, Adams, a cleaver one indeed. Gahhhhh! How could you do this to me?! I wasn’t at all prepared for the turn this story took. But it was done so well, I can respect it, even though you kind of broke my heart a little.

 

 

     I really liked how the first half and the second half of the book had a really different feel to it. The best part is that even though they felt so different, they connected together effortlessly. The first part felt a little immature, along with the characters, but it made sense seen as how they were still in high school. Well, I should say most of the characters since Ciera was definitely mature way beyond her 17 years. I absolutely loved Ciera too. She was such a strong girl, dealing with so much, and with such grace. It was so hard to read how awful so many of her fellow classmates were to her. But it definitely had that very realistic high school feel to it. My only issue with Ciera was, in the very beginning, she was so meek, and she just took so much crap from these bullies. I wanted to see her freaking rage out on them.

 

 

But I did understand that a lot of people in that position react much the way she did, and generally just do what they can to remain invisible and not cause themselves anymore grief. The bitch in me just wanted for her to stick up for herself and show those asshats that she’s not going to take that crap anymore.

 

   I do have to say thank you to this author though, thank you for not falling into that trend that so many others do where every single other girl except the main character is a terrible person. I can’t tell you what a relief characters like Madalynne are in a story like this. I loved how she stood up for and stood by Ciera, with absolutely no regard of how her social standing may fair afterwards. Everyone should have a Madalynne in their lives.

 

     “Why are you being so nice to me?” I ask. I can’t help it. I need to know.

   Her smile vanishes from her lips. “People are jerks. Don’t ever let anyone treat you with any less respect than you deserve.”

 

 

  Now about Topher…..he was….a real grade A jerk in the beginning. And it didn’t exactly change over night, which honestly was for the best, because it wouldn’t have felt genuine he had. I really liked this story line. I mean the world is full of jerks, so it’s kind of nice to see a story where the jerk starts to change his ways and be a better person. It kind of gives you hope in real life, ya know? So after everything, I think I am in a good place with Topher. He surprised me quite a few times. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy the beginning of his and Ciera’s shaky truce when she gave him the business.

 

 

     The second half of this story was infinitely more mature and pretty emotional. I can’t really say much about it, but there was some heavier material and you saw a change in the characters because of it. I appreciated this half just as much as the other. That end though. It was a hard one. I don’t know how Adams managed to pull off such a bittersweet end, but she did. I was heartbroken and still filled with a sense that everything was going to be okay. Things weren’t perfect, but what in life ever is? And even though things were hard and messy, it would get better. Some people were better for having gone through all the things they did.

 

  

 

    I am so happy to see that this is just the first book in a series! I definitely plan on continuing on with it! This is also my first Kira Adams book, but obviously will not be my last.

 

      I received this story from the author in exchange for an honest review

Original post:
TBalla04.booklikes.com/post/1210410/learning-to-live-by-kira-adams

One thought on “LEARNING TO LIVE BY: KIRA ADAMS

Leave a Reply

