CURSE OF THE SPHINX BY: RAYE WAGNER

Review:

Curse of the Sphinx  - Raye Wagner

 

“The gods don’t fix problems. They make bigger ones. Every story, every myth, every legend ends tragically for a human. Gods have amazing powers, but they leave a path of destruction and never think about the consequences that others have to deal with.”

 

Truer words have never been spoken. I loved the way this story started right with the Gods causing havoc. It jumped right into the thick of it, and then fell back into some back story. It grabbed my attention right away and kept me hanging on. I LOVE books with mythology intertwined in it! What I really enjoyed about this one was having some new mythological beings and players being stars of the show. I can’t think of another book off the top of my head that included Sphinxes. So it was really neat to get their story here.

 

I instantly felt for Hope and her family, always on the run because of the curse. Hope’s life was a lonely one, never having a chance to make friends or stay in one place long. I was sad for her loses as the story progressed but I did love the relationships she was able to gain because of them. I thought it was pretty darn cool that this story was told from Hope’s POV, being that she is “the monster” of the story. It was an interesting route to take and I thought it was awesome. Especially considering there was nothing truly bad or evil about Hope, but that was the rep she got because of what she was, the Sphinx.

 

Not only were the Sphinxes something new, but the demigods littered throughout the story were also new to me, which I really liked! As much as I enjoy a Percy or Hercules story, it’s nice to see some of the other Gods children taking the limelight and bringing some fresh stories to the mix. Athan, son of Hermes, was a great leading guy! While his intentions towards Hope seemed more “job” related at first, he always seemed like a genuinely nice guy, and I treasured the relationship he started forming with Hope, even though each of them were holding on to their secrets until pretty much the end. Mr. Stanely deserves an honorable mention, just because his kindness and daily riddles for Hope never failed to bring a smile to my face.

 

 

I also liked the fact that Curse of the Sphinx was set in a modern world, but it was slightly different, in the sense that the Gods were still very much relevant, and ruling. I thought it was neat to see all the human students learning about mythology and all the Gods, demi-gods and different creatures in school. If I would have been learning that in “History” during my school days, that might have been my favorite class! It was a fresh take on a similar theme that has been done before, and I appreciated that!  

 

 

The ending shook me a little. I am so unsure of where this story will go from here! What I do know is that I need to get my hands on it asap! All in all this was a great start to a promising new series, and fans of YA mythology definitely need to give this one a try!

Original post:
TBalla04.booklikes.com/post/1366742/curse-of-the-sphinx-by-raye-wagner

Leave a Reply

