INTERVIEW WITH OIBF ATTENDING AUTHOR, AMY HALE!

fb_img_1479673362817

 

I am so excited to have had an opportunity to interview the amazing Amy Hale this week! Amy is one of the fantastic authors that you will get to meet at Ozarks Indie Book Fest this October. I had the chance to meet her in St. Louis this year, her gorgeous covers jumped right out at me at Penned Con, and the descriptions and Amy’s passion for story telling ensured that I picked up a copy of each of her books! Without further ado, get to know a little more about Amy, her books, and since it is the holidays, some of her favorite holiday goodies…

 

Hello Amy! Please tell us a little about yourself.
I grew up in a small town in Oklahoma.  I now live in Illinois with my wonderful husband of 25 years and my two amazing children. I’ve loved writing as long as I can remember. I used to write poetry and short stories while still in school. I love to laugh and I find myself drawn to happy, optimistic people.
Will this be your first time at Ozarks Indie Book Fest?
Yes, this is my first time at OIBF. I’m really looking forward to seeing some familiar faces as well as meeting new people. I love these events so much!
You have books that cross a few different genres, Romantic Suspense, Urban Fantasy/PNR, Romantic Comedy…do you have a preference/favorite genre that you enjoy writing the most?
I really don’t. I think my favorite is probably whatever I’m working on at the time. I have so many varied stories in my head. When the right mood strikes for a specific genre, that’ll be what I’m most excited to write about.
Is there a genre you haven’t done yet that you’d like to try your hand at?
I have considered trying horror. I also think I’d like to try my hand at more YA themed work. I have a few ideas that I may eventually tackle and see where they go.
OMG I need to know who does your covers?! Each one is stunning and draws you right to it! 
Thank you! I’ve been blessed to work with some very talented people. I have covers from Okay Creations, C & K Creations, and White Rabbit Book Design.  Each artist has been amazing with helping me find the perfect look and feel for my stories.
Are you a plotter or a pantser?
I’m actually a little of both. I usually have a start and an end in mind. Then I pants it until I get the feel for the direction in the middle. Once I feel I have it figured out, I’ll plot out what’s left to be sure it all blends seamlessly.
Are you working on anything now? If so, could you tell us a little bit about it?
I’m putting the finishing touches on the last book in my Shadows Trilogy (Shadows of Deliverance, The Shadows Trilogy Book Three). It releases on March 3rd and is available for preorder now. I’ve also got a couple of other books in the works, but they don’t have working titles yet. They are both a little deeper and darker than my usual work. It’s been fun to step out of my comfort zone on those.
Do you have any authors in particular that inspired you to become a writer?
I’ve always loved to read, so there are probably authors that inspired me and I don’t even realize it. Julia Quinn has always been a favorite of mine. I don’t write historical romance, but I sure love to read it. I also love John Green, JK Rowling, Diana Gabaldon, and Eloisa James. Direct influences are other indie and hybrid authors that I’ve met.  Colleen Hoover, Abbi Glines, Denise Grover Swank, Eric Asher, Maya Banks, (too many to list really.) And there is one big influence that I credit for giving me the guts to put myself out there. I grew up with Jamie McGuire. Seeing her success gave me the courage to try. And she’s given me some great advice along the way. I’m sure she’s saved me from myself a few times. lol
Do you have any hobbies/ what do you do for fun?
I adore photography. I did it professionally for a few years before deciding it was more enjoyable as a hobby. You can often still find me with a camera around my neck. I also love music – I sing and play piano (although I don’t play particularly well.) My husband and I have a motorcycle that we love to take trips on anytime the weather is warm enough. Sometimes we bundle up and brave the cold too. And then there is hanging out with my kids. They are pretty well grown now, but we have a lot of fun as a family. We especially love watching bad movies that have been given the Mystery Science Theater 3000 or Rifftrax treatment.
Fave Five:  *Christmas Edition*
Favorite holiday treat –  I have a horrible sweet tooth, so it’s hard to choose, but I think my favorite is egg nog.
Favorite hot beverage – Hot chocolate, with wassail being a close second.
Favorite Christmas movie  – So many great movies! But over all, probably a toss up between A Christmas Story and It’s A Wonderful Life.
Favorite Christmas song – Do You Hear What I Hear
Favorite thing about the season – The beauty of the lights everywhere. I also appreciate that most people are a little kinder and more thoughtful this time of year.
Thank you so much Amy for taking the time to do the interview, and giving us a chance to know you a little better. I look forward to seeing you at OIBF in 2017!
You can find out more about Amy and her books by clicking the links below and following on social. Also check out the awesome Holiday Sale she has going on right now to get your hands on signed copies of her books for an unbeatable price!

 

author-amy-hale

Connect with Amy Hale:

Blog  Facebook  Twitter  Instagram

 

Books by Amy Hale:

Romantic Suspense

ulterior-motives

 

Romantic Comedy

 

catching-whitney

letteres-from-jayson

 

PNR/ Urban Fantasy

shadows-of-janeshadows-of-deception

 

Amy Hale is having a December Sale, get signed books from her at 20% off, while supplies last!

 

amy-hale-december-sale

 

Meet Amy and many more fabulous authors next October at the Ozarks Indie Book Fest! Find out more information here. Buy your tickets today!

ozarks-pic

 

 

Leave a Reply

