BOOK REVIEW: MISTER LULLABY BY J.H. MARKERT

3 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I was stoked to receive an Arc of this book after reading and loving Markert’s previous book, The Nightmare Man! I had pretty high expectations after that one and Mister Lullaby didn’t disappoint. I actually went into this one blind, only knowing the author and what I had previously read, and while in a similar vein as The Nightmare Man, this definitely was a beast of its own. I was thoroughly delighted when I stumbled into that little passing connection though. That being said, there’s A LOT going on in this book. Some of it worked for me and some of it not as much. I really enjoyed the baddies and the imaginative otherworldly concepts here. In comparison though I found the heroes, namely the main characters Gideon and Beth kind of one dimensional. It was hard for me to connect with either of them and ultimately while you want good to conquer evil I typically also want to feel for or invested in the MCs. I just couldnt get much of that here. The sheer amount of creativity in the otherworldly stuff was aces. It helped in a big way make up for the connectivity I was missing elsewhere. All in all it was a fairly solid read and I’ll still be keeping my eyes peeled for more from this author.

I received an ARC of this book from Crooked Lane Books via NetGalley and this is my honest review.

Leave a comment