BOOK REVIEW: THORNHEDGE BY T. KINGFISHER

4 OUT OF 5 STARS ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I’m not gonna lie, I went into this one totally blind. I saw that the author was T. Kingfisher and that’s literally all I needed to know. I honestly assumed this was a horror novel but that’s my own doing going in completely blind. What it ended up being was a really fun twist on a classic fairytale…but if you’re familiar with any other work by Kingfisher you know she put her own little dark flavor on it. Thornhendge did not disappoint. While there was a dark(ish) element or two this felt very PG and kind of sweet in some ways. I’d say the general vibe was similar to Grimms’ fairytales. I’m immensely fond of reimaginings like this! Toadling was kind and endearing, I thoroughly enjoyed learning about her and her life in Fairieland. I’m just going to throw out in the universe that I’d 100% read more about that or any other Toadling adventures. Just sayin’.

I received an ARC of this book from Tor Books via NetGalley and this is my honest review.

Leave a comment